PageDrive and WordPress

I am starting to embrace WordPress, WordPress.com, and even the word “blog” as never before, but before I get into such details, a bit of personal project history is in order.

My personal journal at my personal Web site and my rather blog-like video gaming site, Game Buzz (blog-like as a site because of the blog-like news section, which is currently the main content at the site), both run on my own custom software: PageDrive, a Web application (including content management) platform, and a blogging application that may or may not be installed with the core of PageDrive. However, while my software does enable blogging, it is not a direct rival to WordPress; in fact, my intentions for the core of PageDrive are very different from the apparent goals of the WordPress: I want to enable multiple applications at a single Web site to use common resources and access common information and I want to keep those common resources as reusable as possible so they can be used again and again and again, even on different Web sites, without redevelopment and with as little necessity for customization as possible.

For example, if a site offers both blogs and discussion forums, I want the applications that run both systems to be able to access common user accounts and user session information—primarily so users do not have to hold separate login accounts for separate applications running on a single Web site. I’ve been there, I’ve done that, and it was annoying. And it is not only annoying to users: Web developers should not have to deal with multiple login systems or multiple session systems at a single site either and I for one am not very keen on the idea of developing very similar login and session systems or configuration systems or presentation systems or user management systems or other common systems from scratch for every site I build.

To spare themselves redundant work and to make more time for both refining previous work and progressing with new work, many Web developers reuse code from a personal or organizational library or from some other project (or both as the occasion warrants), be it their own project or one for which the source code is otherwise available. I want to take things further by having not only a common library of reusable code, but by organizing it into a cohesive yet divisible and customizable and well-documented system that improves both the productivity of developers and usability for end-users.  So while enabling blogging is definitely the goal of one of my systems that uses PageDrive, that is not the goal of the PageDrive project as a whole, PageDrive and WordPress are not rival projects despite offering some of the same functionality, I wish great success for WordPress and its developers, and I even hope to be able to contribute in some way to making WordPress even better.  In fact, as I mentioned above, I have already started to embrace WordPress as never before.  That, however, will be the subject of another article.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

